Mysterious Machine

Well, it’s been a while since I posted my birthday poem and, as mentioned at the bottom of the Poetry Please post, there was an additional poem about a small machine part found in the bottom of the author’s drawer. I decided it was rather selfish not to share this one too. It’s a performance piece so please bear in mind that to see it written down really doesn’t do it justice.

 

Ahem…

tap tap tap TAP TAP…

Is it on? Can everyone hear…? Oh, right. Ok…

 

(stage note – rhythmically, we’re going dah dah DAH dah dah dah DAH here, except… oh, you’ll figure it out)

 

There’s a sprocket in my drawer

And I don’t know what it’s for.

I can’t even think of anything that needs one any more.

It’s beginning to annoy me,

And I wish I never saw

The sprocket in my drawer

Because I don’t know what it’s for

 

Thank you.

 

(stage note – Dan shuffles away)

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

