Poetry Please

We all know that the best presents are the ones you make yourself. At least, that’s what I tell myself when I proudly hand over my doodles in their Wilko* frames for… well, any occasion, if I’m honest. So when I grumped into work yesterday, after two days of post birthday-excess migraine, I was much cheered by an e-mail I found in my inbox:-

_______________

 

To: Dewsnap, Emily

From: A—–, Dan

Cc:

Subject: Present

 

I did you a new haiku for your birthday. It went:

 

Tiles slip from webbed feet

Words lost in winter currents

Newts can’t play scrabble

 

Did I tell you the one about the small machine part I found in my drawer?

Dan

_______________

 

I really can’t say how much this cheered me up, so I thought I’d start my nice new blog on a positive note. Enjoy it, it’s all downhill from here on in.

 

FOOTNOTES

* I kid not; Wilkos is the place to be for decent enough inexpensive** frames. They even come with mount board, as a general rule

** Not cheap, no; just inexpensive

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

